Effective July 1, 2015, nearly all California employers will have to provide at least 24 hours of paid sick leave to their employees. Employers can choose to accrue these hours over a period of time, or grant them all at once. The law is known as the Health Workplaces, Healthy Families Act, and the majority of CA employers are covered -- companies small and large, public and private, for profit and not-for-profit. The paid sick time has to be offered to all employees. All part-time, full-time, exempt, non-exempt, temporary, and seasonal; all employees who work in California 30 days or more a year. Also, sick time may be used not only for the employee's own health condition, but also for their child, spouse, parent, plus sibling, grandchild and grandparent.
Workplace posters have been required since the beginning of the year, ours is in the break room. Notification via pay stub or other written document is also required. There is talk about eventually seeing federal requirements for sick leave. It will be interesting to see how this evolves.